Skip to content

Are you winning or just doing your best?*

December 10, 2014

That’s really an unusual thought today, isn’t it? We tend to think, “Well, all I can do is my best, isn’t it?” But I don’t want to just do my best, I want to win!

Why? If I just do my best, I would never get any better. If we want to move forward, we need to think differently. If we stay comfortable, doing our best, we do the same thing over and over. We need to stretch – to go to Plan B, Plan C, Plan D – to find out what can really happen when we grow.

How do we do this? First of all, we need to define what winning looks like. What does your career look like? Your personal life? What does your company look like?

Then, you need to get “lucky.” Here are some ways to get “lucky” in business:

  • Work hard
  • Complain less (out loud & in your head)
  • Teach others
  • Share the credit
  • Show up on time! (10 minutes early)
  • Be responsible (for your goals)
  • Stay teachable (by your peers, leaders, and your children – believe that others have value to offer you!)

*I recently started a Mary Kay business.  Not only is Mary Kay a great business model with a great product line, but they provide great training to their consultants.  This perspective was part of a recent training I received from my Director, Beth Lange.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

